Open Door…Insert Foot

These past few weeks have been exciting for me to say the least. After placing 5th in a short story contest on Eat Sleep Write–the first story contest I’ve ever placed in–I found myself taking my writing much more seriously. Suddenly, I realize I’m not an absolute failure and I might actually be good at writing.

A few days ago Chuck Wendig (whose blog is my favorite blog to follow) posted a challenge in which we were to create a character in 250 words. It didn’t matter how we did it…what method we approached it with. We just needed to be capable of pulling it off. And so I did.

Now, I have my own way of going about creating characters and building worlds. I hate outlines like nobody’s business. Instead, I write passages that give enough detail to show who a character is and what the world I’ve put them in is like. I may or may not use those passages in the actual story-line, but they are there to give myself insight into the character and world.

All of that being said, I was approached a couple of days ago after sharing my 250 word passage by a friend who works with Eat Sleep Write. I am now writing a weekly column for their blog on character creation the like. To say I am flattered is a bit of an understatement. How awesome is that? Someone thought my methods were good enough to share with others on a site that gets quite a good bit of traffic (. Not only does it offer exposure, but it gives me the confidence boost I need to keep going!

Suddenly, I find myself working harder toward my goals, reaching farther, digging deeper, and taking myself more seriously. My foot is in the door, people!

3 thoughts on “Open Door…Insert Foot

    1. I find that the hard times may suck away your normality in the short term, but after you’ve survived it, you’ll have much more to write about. Even the change in your emotional state, or inward understanding will have an affect on your writing. And I think, in the long run, that’s a good thing. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

